14 June, 2024

Regional Centre


Initially Sub Regional Centre was started at RC, Darbhanga in April, 2005 to promote the programmes of IGNOU in North Bihar. Before this special category of Study Centre was also started in all the district of North Bihar with limited courses like BPP, BA, B.COM. and few Master Degree Programmes in Social Sciences and Humanities minimum in one Govt. College. Due to increase in enrolment number, it was upgraded as Regional Centre on 06th December, 2006 with Code No.-46.


As per RSD Notification vide No.- IG/RSD/Notification/11/1825 dated 27th June, 2011, a new Regional Centre namely Saharsa with Code-86 is established by carving eight districts from Regional Centre, Darbhanga i.e. – Khagaria, Saharsa, Supaul, Madhepura, Katihar, Araria, Kishanganj & Purnea. Again as per RSD Notification vide No.- IG/RSD/30 SSC/2012/95 dated 22.01.2013 two districts namely Saran & Siwan under RC, Darbhanga has been transferred to the jurisdiction of RC, Patna.


Now this Regional Centre is coordinating University operations in ten districts of North Bihar i.e.- Darbhanga, Madhubani, Samastipur, Begusarai, Muzaffarpur, East Champaran, West Champaran, Sitamarhi, Gopalganj & Sheohar. At present total No. of LSCs are 40 under this region:-


LearnerSupport Centres- 12
Programme Study Centres- 08
Special Study Centres- 05
JSS Study Centre- 08
PMKK Study Centre- 07